About Misamis Occidental Province, Philippines

Luzon Visayas Mindanao   Real Estate Philippines Philipines Phillipines Phillipine Philipine Philippine Pilipinas
For Property Buyers
Beachfront Properties
Residential House & Lot
Vacant Lots For Sale
Condo Units/Townhouses
Commercial Lots/Buildings
Agricultural Lands/Farms
Islands For Sale

Golf-front Houses/Lots
Beach Houses/Near-Beach
Gated/Walled Communities
Low-Cost Housing
Golf Shares/Memorial Parks
Warehouses For Sale
Resorts/Hotels For Sale
Businesses For Sale
Other Waterfront Properties

For Property Renters
Beach Houses For Rent
Houses For Rent
Condo Units/Townhouses
Commercial/Office Space
Warehouses For Rent
Lots For Rent

Property Listings
By Property Location
By Property Type
By Property Code Number
New Properties Added
Properties For Rent

For Property Sellers
Sell Your Properties
Check Email for Inquiries
Businesses For Sale

Maps of Provinces/Cities
Info on Provinces/Cities
Real Estate Laws
Tips for Buyers
Currency Converter
Time Converter
Measurement Guide
Construction Supplies

>By Location >By Type
>New Properties Added

Misamis Occidental Province

Misamis Occidental is a province of the Philippines in the Northern Mindanao Region.
Founded: November 8, 1929
Capital: Oroquieta City
Land Area: 2,055.22 km2 (793.52 sq mi)
Population: 567,642 (2010)
Cities: Oroquieta City, Ozamiz City, Tangub City
Munacipalities: 14
Barangays: 490
Districts: 1st and 2nd Districts of Misamis Occidental
Languages: Cebuano, Subanen,English, Tagalog, Maranao

The land_______________________________

The land is shaped like a collapsible fan. It is bounded by the Mindanao Sea on the northeast, Iligan Bay on the east, Panuil Bay on the southeast, and Zamboanga del Norte and Sur on the western side of the province.

Three of its boundaries are bodies of water which gives away water life as on of its natural resources and fishins as one of its livelihood means.

The provincia terrain is characterized by hilly and rolling land except the coastal area. The terrain towards the western boarder is particularly rugged.

A Brief History___________________________

It is believed that Subanen was the first to occupy the area of what is now known as Misamis Occidental and the coastal area was then occupied by Visayans. The name of the province was derived from the Subanen word "Kuyamis" which means a variety of coconut.

In 1818, Mindanao was devided into five politico-military districts, one of which was Segundo Distrito de Misamis, the largest district. This district was composed of what is known today as Misamis Oriental, Misamis Occidental, Camiguin, Bukidnon, Lanao, Zamboanga del Norte and northern part of Cotabato.

In 1850, the town of Misamis became the capital of the district of Misamis until February 27, 1872. In that same year the Spanish Governor General Carlos Maria de la Torre issued a decree which declares Cagayan the permanent capital of Segundo Distrito de Misamis. It was when the town was known as Cagayan de Misamis.

In November 2, 1929, a legislative act (No.3537) was passed dividing the old province of Misamis into Misamis Occidental and Misamis Oriental, this took effect on January 1, 1930. Misamis Occidental was composed of nine original town namely Baliangao, Lopez Jaena, Tudela, Clarin, Plaridel, Oroquieta, Aloran, Jimenez, and Misamis.

In January 6, 1930, the provincial council of Misamis Occidental, selected Oroquita to be the capital town.


The economy of the province depends highly on fishing, secondly on coconuts, and lastly on ice.

Map of Misamis Occidental Province
About the Philippines | About other Provinces


Main Page | Listings of Properties | How To Add Your Property | Link To Us | Contact Us | About Us

Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Disclaimer - Copyright © RealPhil.com Realty Services. All rights reserved.

Notice: Prior to using this website, you should review the Terms and Conditions. Your access to and use of this Site
constitutes acceptance of such Terms and Conditions.